January 16, 2019

Annapolis, MD – Citing hardship faced by over 147,000 Maryland federal employees, a group of 28 Maryland State Senators today called upon President Trump to initiate a bipartisan compromise that ends the partial federal government shutdown.


In a letter to President Trump, the Senators stated: “In the Maryland State Senate we have a proven track record of working across the aisle to serve the residents of our state. We work daily to ensure that partisan aims do not take the place of responsible decisions and we are hopeful that you would be willing to do the same.  While it may sound simplistic, everyone doesn’t always get everything that they want. That’s how compromise works and that’s what we’re asking that you do.”


The group of Senators includes: Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. (District 27- Prince George’s, Charles, and Calvert Counties), Senator Malcolm Augustine (District 47- Prince George’s County), Senator Pamela Beidle (District 32- Anne Arundel County), Senator Joanne C. Benson (District 24- Prince George’s County), Senator Jill Carter (District 41- Baltimore City), Senator Sarah Elfreth (District 30- Anne Arundel County), Senator Arthur Ellis (District 28- Charles County), Senator Brian Feldman (District 15- Montgomery County), Senator Melony Griffith (District 25- Prince George’s County), Senator Guy Guzzone (District 13- Howard County), Senator Antonio Hayes (District 40- Baltimore City), Senator Katie Fry Hester (District 9- Carroll and Howard Counties), Senator Cheryl Kagan (District 17- Montgomery County), Senator Nancy King (District 39- Montgomery County), Senator Benjamin Kramer (District 19- Montgomery County), Senator Clarence Lam (District 12- Baltimore and Howard Counties), Senator Susan Lee (District 16- Montgomery County), Senator Shirley Nathan-Pulliam (District 44- Baltimore City and Baltimore County), Senator Obie Patterson (District 26- Prince George’s County), Senator Douglas J.J. Peters (District 23- Prince George’s County), Senator Paul Pinsky (District 22- Prince George’s County), Senator James Rosapepe (District 21- Prince George’s and Anne Arundel Counties), Senator William Smith, Jr. (District 20- Montgomery County), Senator Jeff Waldstreicher (District 18- Montgomery County), Senator Mary Washington (District 43- Baltimore City), Senator Ron Young (District 3- Frederick County), Senator Bobby Zirkin (District 11- Baltimore County), Senator Craig Zucker (District 14- Montgomery County).


The partial federal government shutdown began on December 22, 2018. The shutdown entered its 25th day on January 15, 2019 and is the longest of its kind in United States history.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

FREE Surplus Supplies for Non-Profits and Small Businesses

July 18, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Paid for and Authorized by Friends of Ron Young, Kathy Rossen, Treasurer.
Not Paid For at Taxpayer Expense

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle